​In big rejig, govt appoints secys to a dozen key depts


NEW DELHI: In a major top-deck reshuffle, the government on Sunday appointed nearly two dozen new secretaries, including those for economic affairs, petroleum, environment and school education, while giving a three-month extension to health secretary Preeti Sudan in the wake of Covid-19.

Among the prominent appointments,
Tarun Bajaj, currently additional secretary in the PMO, has been appointed economic affairs secretary. He will replace
Atanu Chakraborty, who retires at the end of the month. Bajaj is an old finance ministry hand.

Arvind Kumar Sharma, a key functionary in the PMO, has been appointed secretary for micro, small and medium enterprises.

Rural development secretary
Rajesh Bhushan has been designated as officer on special duty in the health ministry to take over from Sudan.

The government also appointed
Tarun Kapoor, currently the DDA chief, as the new petroleum secretary, while border management secretary N N Sinha has been shifted to rural development.

CBSE chairperson Anita Karwal was appointed the school education secretary, a charge which was being held by Amit Khare, the higher education secretary. Khare has now been given the additional charge of information and broadcasting ministry, as Ravi Mittal, the current secretary, was transferred to youth affairs and sports.

In addition to vacancies arising by the end of the month, the government also announced replacements for secretaries retiring at the end of May.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Post

Some taxmen bat for nil scrutiny, FinMin says that’s ‘irresponsible’