15 UP districts including Noida, Ghaziabad, Lucknow, to be sealed


The Yogi Adityanath government in Uttar Pradesh has decided to ‘completely seal’ 15 districts effective today till 15th April. The districts to be sealed are Lucknow, Noida, Ghaziabad, Sitapur, Kanpur, Agra, Ferozabad, Bareilly, Meerut, Shamli, Saharanpur, Bulandshahr, Varanasi, Maharajganj and Basti.

“All coronavirus hotspots in 15 districts will be completely sealed till April 15 morning. Only home delivery will be allowed. These are places where a number of cases have been found,” Director, Information Shishir told PTI.

The move is aimed to prevent community spread, as the numbers of positive coronavirus cases reported from these districts are high.

“Districts which have 6 or more cases are Agra, Lucknow, Ghaziabad, Gautam Budh Nagar, Kanpur Nagar, Varanasi, Shamli, Meerut, Bareilly, Bulandshahr, Basti, Saharanpur, Maharajganj & Sitapur. Lockdown will be observed in the hotspots in these districts,” Additional Chief Secretary, (Home), Awanish K Awasthi said.

Meanwhile, 21 new coronavirus cases in Uttar Pradesh (UP) were reported today as of 8 am, according to data released by the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare. This brings the total reported cases of coronavirus in UP to 326. Among the total people infected as on date, 21 have recovered and 3 have passed away.

India is under a 21-day lockdown till 14 April to mitigate the spread of Covid-19 which has killed more than 80,000 killed across the world. The lockdown has led to temporary closure of shopping malls, dine-in restaurants, grounding of aircraft, shutting down of factories and deserted market places.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Post

Exodus from Wuhan begins as 76-day lockdown ends, but another starts