Madhya Pradesh: Five ministers take oath in first expansion

Ghughuti Bulletin

BHOPAL: Three present and two former legislators were on Tuesday sworn in as ministers in the first expansion of the council of ministers in
Madhya Pradesh.

The five were sworn in by governor Lalji Tandon at a simple function in the Raj Bhawan amid the coronavirus-induced lockdown. Chief minister
Shivraj Singh Chouhan was present at the ceremony.

The state was without a cabinet since a month owing to the Covid-19 pandemic. Chouhan was sworn in CM on March 23 to head the BJP-led government in the state.

Among the new entrants, two ex-MLAs Tulsi Silawat and Govind Singh Rajput are supporters of former Union minister Jyotiraditya Scindia, who with 22 MLAs, including six ministers, quit Congress last month to join BJP.

Former BJP ministers Narottam Mishra, Meena Singh and Kamal Patel were also inducted in the cabinet in Tuesday’s expansion.

  • Download

    The Times of India News App for Latest City News

  • Subscribe

    Start Your Daily Mornings with Times of India Newspaper! Order Now

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Next Post

Politics Aside, Centre’s Figures Reveal Bengal Fares Well In Terms of Covid-19 Cases and Deaths