Modis Trusted PMO Aides AK Sharma, Tarun Bajaj Shifted to Key Economic Roles for Covid Fight

Ghughuti Bulletin

New Delhi: In a major reshuffle in top bureaucracy of the Narendra Modi government, senior IAS officers AK Sharma and Tarun Bajaj were on Sunday moved out of the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) to take on key economic roles.

Bajaj, a 1988-batch Haryana cadre officer, has been appointed as Department of Economic Affairs Secretary in the Ministry of Finance and will take over upon superannuation of incumbent Atanu Chakraborty on April 30. He is presently posted as Additional Secretary in PMO, said a Ministry of Personnel order.

Sharma, a 1988-batch IAS of Gujarat cadre and also an Additional Secretary in the PMO, has been appointed Secretary, Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises and will take over upon superannuation of the present incumbent Arun Kumar Panda on April 30.

The decision, taken on Sunday by the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC) chaired by the Prime Minister, assume significance as the two departments will play a crucial role in charting the economic policies to counter Coronavirus impact.

The reshuffle of bureaucrats also saw government appointing new officers in crucial departments directly handling matters related to covid-19 crisis. Health and family welfare secretary Preeti Sudan who is at the forefront of India’s battle against covid-19 has been given an extension of three months beyond her date of retirement on April 30.

As per the order, Sudhanshu Pandey will be new Union Food Secretary, Pradeep Kumar Tripathi the new Steel Secretary, Delhi Development Authority (DDA) Vice Chairman Tarun Kapoor the new Secretary, Petroleum and Natural Gas, CBSE Chairperson Anita Karwal will be the new Secretary, Education and Literacy, and Rajesh Bhushan Officer on Special Duty in Department of Health and Family Welfare.

Amit Khare, a 1985-batch IAS officer of Jharkhand cadre and currently Secretary, Higher Education, has been given additional charge of the post of Secretary, Information and Broadcasting on appointment of incumbent Ravi Mittal as Secretary, Sports.

Ravi Kant, Secretary, Food and Public Distribution has been appointed as Secretary, Ex-Servicemen Welfare in Ministry of Defence given the coming superannuation of present incumbent Sanjeevanee Kutty on April 30. Secretary, New and Renewable Energy, Anand Kumar has been appointed as Secretary, Culture.

These were among 23 IAS officers of the rank from Additional Secretary, Special Secretary and Secretary who were on Sunday appointed in various central government departments as part of the bureaucratic reshuffle.

A total of 10 Indian Administrative Service (IAS) officers have been given in-situ upgradation to the level of Special Secretary in the rank and pay of Secretary of Central government, as a measure personal to the them, by temporarily upgrading the posts held by them.

These are Jyoti Arora, B. Anand, Neel Kamal Darbari, Bidyut Bihari Swain, Apurva Chandra, Rajiv Bansal, Ali Raza Rizvi, Praveen Kr. Srivastava, Arvind Singh and Indevar Pandey.

Support the daily wage earners who have been hit the hardest by the COVID-19 crisis. Click here to contribute to the cause. #IndiaGives

The daily News18 Coronavirus COVID-19 newsletter – Get your copy here.

Subscribe to News18 Daybreak. Follow us on Twitter,
TikTok and on

First Anniversary Offer: Subscribe to Moneycontrol PRO’s annual plan for ₹1/- per day for the first year and claim exclusive benefits worth ₹20,000. Coupon code: PRO365

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Post

How to track coronavirus (COVID-19) cases live in India